The Carrollton Court House, built more than 150 years ago, has a fascinating legal history. Carrollton was incorporated as a city on March 10, 1845. In 1852, the neighboring town of Lafayette, formerly the seat of government for Jefferson Parish, was annexed to the City of New Orleans. The following year, voters selected Carrollton as the new seat of Jefferson Parish government. In accordance with its new position, a courthouse and jail would be built in Carrollton. Property at the head of Canal Street (now South Carrollton Avenue) was purchased from Mr. C.C. Duncan for $7,000. Designed by architect Henry Howard, the building and jailhouse were constructed by Messrs. Wing and Crozier for $59,000 and completed in late 1855, during Mayor J. L. Donnellan’s administration.
From 1855 to 1874, Carrollton served as the seat of government for Jefferson Parish, until it, too, was annexed by the City of New Orleans. During those 19 years, the Carrollton Court House was the scene of many interesting criminal and civil cases affecting the future of Carrollton. Justice was dispensed there, including death sentences. Hangings took place behind the Court House and near the prison.