"Old Newcomb": The First Two Newcomb College Campuses

Tour curated by: Newcomb College Institute

Explore the original DeLord and Camp Street campus, as well as the second campus of Newcomb College, located on Washington Avenue. Uncover the history, characters, and legacy that shaped Newcomb College into what it is today by following its expansion from 1887 to 1918, when the college moved to its present-day campus on Broadway.

Locations for Tour

Newcomb College opened its doors in October 1887 to 59 students in a converted two-story brownstone building on the corner of Camp and DeLord (Howard Avenue) Streets, near what is, in 2012, Lee Circle. This, the former Hale Mansion, quickly was…

College Hall was built by James Robb, a wealthy banker, between 1852 and 1854. After a series of personal and financial misfortunes, Robb sold the mansion to John Burnside, a merchant who died in 1881. The house was originally purchased to house…

In 1896, Mrs. Newcomb contributed to both a pottery building and an arcade to connect the high school with College Hall. The girls of Newcomb were thrilled with finally having their "missing link," as they called it, built to unite the…

Newcomb administrators and faculty members were rather unique in their ideas about the physical education of women, especially when compared to other schools at the time. Dixon hired Clara Baer to meet the challenge of winning over students and their…

The chapel held a particular spot in Mrs. Newcomb's heart, as she saw it as symbolic of her daughter, Sophie. Mrs. Newcomb ordered Tiffany windows for this building, as well as a specially built organ and a bronze memorial tablet for Harriott…

Built soon after the end of the Civil War, Warren House was later named after Mrs. Newcomb's deceased husband, Warren Newcomb. The building was secured by the Tulane Educational Fund for Newcomb College in 1903 and served as a residence hall for…

In 1909, Newcomb's School of Music building, which was built between 1850-60, was leased from the Tulane Educational Fund to house the new program. This building served as the home of the music program until 1918, when the college moved to…

Under the guidance of Ellsworth Woodward, the Newcomb pottery program began flourishing in the mid-1890s. In 1896, the first public display of the pottery produced by the students was presented, to polite enthusiasm. In March 1900, the program was…

After the completion of Josephine Louise House in 1895, Mrs. Newcomb attempted to live in the building with the students, but found that their chatter ill suited to her need for quiet. She moved to Newcomb House, on 1225 Fourth Street in 1897. …

Mrs. Newcomb bought this house across from the Washington Avenue campus for a residence hall for the growing school in 1894. The original Josephine Louise House was managed by Alice Bowman, who was charged with both running the household and managing…

In 1897, Newcomb College was becoming cramped, and President Dixon found himself writing to the President of Tulane. He expressed the need for another dorm to house all the girls and accommodate the growing College. In response, the Gables was added…